M

Kid, you have died. And the world continues being the world despite that. You knew it would. Somewhere in you, its relentlessness must have seemed proof you weren’t worth anything. But you were.

It’s snowing. Weather keeps weathering. Movies keep being watched. Books keep being read. Tears keep being shed. Laughter keeps being laughed. Friends keep loving. Lovers, sometimes too.

And you are dead.

Thank you for your kindness, your sweetness, your laughter, your gentleness. I know you were more than good things, and that the mix is what made your good so poignant, so beautiful. But death must at last be defeated by love for the life that preceded. And if you could not love it, those of us behind you will.

I wish I could wish you peace, but I don’t believe in souls or gods. But I believe in life and in love. And you had both, and you leave both behind. Those, I’ll treasure. Those stay.

Oh, Kid. You have died.

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusion consulting for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps--right in time to experience my first Russian invasion. I followed that up spending time volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to M

  1. This is so beautifully written. I’m so sorry you had need to…

Leave a Reply

