The Teacup Has Spoken

So I had a genius idea the other night.

I took a pink piece of paper, tore it into six even pieces, and wrote the numbers 1 through 6 on them. I folded each piece up, and put them into a very lovely Turkish teacup. I decided that the next morning, and every morning, I’d go to the teacup and pick one. And whatever number it was, would be the number of miles I’d walk that day.

Genius.

And so I find myself today having picked 6. Six miles is, like, two hours.

I have given a teacup control over my time. I am no stranger to the rabbit hole.

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Teacup Has Spoken

  1. Paul Lamb says:

    But you’re out there, getting the miles done. I’ve been rethinking my “more-in-better” running philosophy lately. My goal for the new year is to master the five-mile run. Get good and strong at that first and then start building the distance again.

Leave a Reply

