Sometimes everything has to be destroyed

I think it was Picasso who said that creativity is first of all an act of destruction.

A year ago today, a play destroyed me. Or rather, since I went to see it ten times, and then lied so that the library would let me watch it on tape one more time–> A year ago today, the play that destroyed me held its final live performance.

I’ll let everyone else love on Streetcar, Glass Menagerie and Cat. For me, Tennessee Williams created his masterpiece with The Two Character Play. And when Brad Dourif and Amanda Plummer made it theirs, it lived something so visceral, so true and so beautiful, it still pains me to think the playwright wasn’t able to experience the life they gave it.

Watching it, I remember feeling him inside it, hands shaking the bars, soul-seared. That play taught me what true writing was, and true acting. Devastation and beauty.

A year ago today. It terrifies me how much it’s affected me. It’s my greatest vulnerability, that play. As the old song goes, “Only love can break your heart.”

Photograph by Brooke Shaden

Photograph by Brooke Shaden

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in theater, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

