Criminal Mind

Bit of a scramble this morning.

Woke up late and tired, decided ye olde brain was in no useful shape for writing, and to tidy the house instead. An act of desperation.

I found a pink envelope that informed me it was URGENT.  Pink envelopes are not urgent.  Pink does not say “open me.”  Pink says “breeze on by.”  I had already ignored it for a while, but I opened it this morning.

Discovered it held a government jury selection form. What? Okay.

But heaven forfend I check which column is YES and which is NO.  In a tired blur, I ended up checking YES confirming I’d been convicted of the entire slew of crimes they listed.

On the upside, I found an eraser after only a wee bit of a scramble in ye olde desk.

On the extra upside, I think it might be fun to behave in a slightly angled way today, do something different to commemorate my day of mass criminality.

Something other than finish cleaning the house.

Image

This is not my house. Nor a pink government form. Nor a crime. I think.

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

