Magic on the Streets Tonight

I love New York.

Today I was walking home after work and I saw a woman approaching wrapped in her coat, her backpack straps trailing in the air about her.  “Hm,” I thought, “her coat is blowing so, it looks like she has wings.”

And then she passed, and I saw she was in fact wearing sheer black butterfly wings.  Who knows what event demanded them; perhaps she was simply in a singularly butterflyish mood.

I love New York 🙂

Image

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in New York, rambles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Magic on the Streets Tonight

  1. Sounds like something out of a De Lint Novel. 🙂

  2. ralfast says:

    Or a reborn Winged Hussar? I miss NYC. Not a place I would live in, I think London is the city for me, but you can’t beat a wild night in New York City. 😀

  3. Beth says:

    What a great image! Both the photograph and seeing the woman wearing fairy wings.

Leave a Reply

