If I’m not in Central Park, I must be–in Bruges!

It turns out that Bruges is beyond beautiful.

It really is magical, and in an almost overwhelming way. Beyond the clutter of chocolate shops (heaven!), horse-drawn carriages and town squares, meandering wherever your eyes and feet take you, you’re still plunging into beauty and enchanting vistas every step of your way. Canals, swans, medieval gables, exquisite masonry, slinky alleyways with views of steeples above lanterns, a trove of architectural treasures… Every night we returned to our B&B in disbelief, so impossibly beautiful is that gem, Bruges. I’ve never seen anything like it…

A Bruges Canal

Center of an Enchanted Garden of Churches (my name for it, anyway)

View Reflected in Autumn Colours on the Minnewater (Lake of Love)

Inside City Hall

Night and the Boats

Red Leaves, Green Benches and an Arcaded Amble (does Bruges even know how to not be picturesque??)

Two Swans in the Mist among the Red Bricks

Door onto the Canal in the Garden of Churches (as I call it)

Canal View (also featuring the guesthouse)

The Iridescent Moon (that turned out to be the sun)

Belfry in the Fog and the Birds Swooping About It

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to If I’m not in Central Park, I must be–in Bruges!

  1. sputnitsa says:

    J and I still found great pleasure in muttering and giggling our way through Colin Farrell’s line about why he doesn’t like Bruges (from Martin McDonagh’s brilliantly dark comedy, In Bruges). Check it out here–>

  2. Beth says:

    Ah! Bruges looks beautiful.
    I need to watch In Bruges again, and soon.
    On a McDonagh note, have you seen/read any of his plays? Just as dark, just as hilarious.

    • sputnitsa says:

      McDonagh is SO sick and so hilarious! Yep, I’ve read the Pillowman (brilliant) and the Lieutenant of Inishmore (ditto, and the cats!!) but have yet to read his others.

      In terms of Bruges–you should visit for sure. You’re in Europe still, right? Go. It’s insane. You know how they keep saying it’s like a (fucking) fairytale? It SO is. It’s magical and it’s sort of impossibly itself. It’s even more beautiful than the movie shows… You should totally go πŸ™‚ And let me know if you too end up giggling those Colin Farrell lines to yourself πŸ™‚

      • Beth says:

        I’ve read the Pillowman and the Beauty Queen of Leenane, am so excited because the Lieutenant of Inishmore is playing in Edinburgh this spring. πŸ™‚

        Yep, still in Europe! I will have to put Bruges on my to-visit list for this spring, once the majority of my degree’s completed. πŸ™‚

        • sputnitsa says:

          OH MY GAWD!!!!!!!!!! You can actually see Lieutenant of Inishmore LIVE IN A THEATER?????? OMG. You are so lucky πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Go see it, see it! OMG. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Heaven πŸ™‚ And then tell all about it. Heck, tell if you get tickets at all–I’ll vicariously enjoy even more! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

          Do, do, do see Bruges. I had no idea it could be that beautiful πŸ™‚ What’re the other places on your to-do list?

          Love that you’re in Europe for uni!!!!

  3. ralfast says:

    Grrr….I iz jelouz! LOL! πŸ˜€

  4. Pingback: Sunday Tweet: If I’m not in Central Park, I must be in Bruges! « Neither Here nor There….

  5. Feck, Sputsie! I need to stop gaping at these photos and get to my writing.

    Drats you!- said Gypsy sweetly.

  6. Beth says:

    The plan’s just Paris and more of the UK. I don’t have much time at all for travel–and I like to see as much as I can of the place where I’m living. Master’s programmes in a year are for the insane.

    Yep, live on stage. When I saw that, I immediately told my friend that we’re going to see it. πŸ™‚

  7. sayssara says:

    I have been to Bruges and agree it really is beautiful. And such wonderful chocolate – what else do you need?

Leave a Reply

