Last Night New Jersey Got Confused

Yes, I could sense the entire state’s state of mind.  Mostly from the frantic fireworks they were setting off like it was someone’s birthday.

No, no, Jersey–Independence Day is on the fourth, not the first.

But who’s complaining.  I got a lovely show across the river.  Two for the price of one.  One war, mind you, but that predates me by sufficient time for me to simply gaze at fireworks with almost no thought for that to which it hearkens.

Speaking of which, what is it about fireworks that so captivates us??

About sputnitsa

I'm a first-gen American--grew up in Africa and the West Indies, served in Peace Corps, and work in international development, social justice, refugee aid and youth empowerment. I'm back from climbing minarets and mountains, and here in NYC enjoy exploring theaters, museums, forests and parks. I write, produce short films, and direct plays.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, whatnot. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment