Tbilisi Meanderings I: Old Town

Β I notice quite a few people stopping by searching for Tbilisi, and I realized I have all too few pictures up. Β These below are a brief grab of Old Town photos. For the most part, I provide a snippet more info on each if you click on the photo. Β I’ll put up some more from Old Town, Mount Kazbegi, Gori, Kvemo Kartli, etc. Β  I absolutely loved my time in the country–so if you’re thinking of visiting, or are perhaps a prospective Peace Corps Volunteer, or just want to know more, let me know what you’re wondering and I’ll be glad to answer! πŸ™‚

Gorgeous Tbilisi: Fortress, Sunni Mosque, Turkish Baths & Azeri Tbilisi

 

 

Why? My Favourite Tbilisi Statue

Little Church Above the Turkish Baths

Another Shot of Old Town from the River Side

Two Old Friends Prop Each Other Up - Old Tbilisi

Old Town Courtyard - Tbilisi, Georgia

Old Town Courtyard - Tbilisi, Georgia

Old TownMetekhi Church

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in Caucasus, Georgia, Peace Corps, photos, Republic of Georgia, Tbilisi, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tbilisi Meanderings I: Old Town

  1. ralfast says:

    Great pics. Looks like a city with a lot of character.

  2. S.H.Tappe says:

    see more pictures of Tbilisi on my website:

    http://www.caucasus-pictures.blogspot.com

    Greetings,
    Henning

  3. Beth says:

    Wow. Beautiful photos. The buildings have such character!

    • sputnitsa says:

      Georgia is chock-full of character πŸ™‚ Incredible place. Very dense and lively cultural heritage. And I also love the character of their architecture! Truly beautiful… And the beautiful albeit rundown Old Town is just exquisite…

      Lots to offer. And don’t get me started on their beautiful and rousing music and dance!!

      πŸ™‚ Beautiful country… πŸ™‚

  4. John Doe says:

    Crappy city with the worst people on earth

  5. Judy Croome says:

    The houses have broekielace on their stoeps! I thought only the old towns in the Karoo had houses with the pretty lattice work (broekielace) on their verandhas (stoeps)!

    A town I’m going to have to add to out travel list! So much history in those streets and walls
    Judy, South Africa

    • sputnitsa says:

      Hi Judy! πŸ™‚

      Absolutely, broekielace is huge in Old Town. It’s absolutely exquisite and charming. As you can see, it’s also run-down, but to that never detracted from the charm to me. Their courtyards are beautiful. And like you said, there’s so much history in the place! I remember my first impression was that history was living within those walls.

      One of the other posters included a link to his photos of Tbilisi; I checked them out and they’re rather lovely too.

      I had to look up the Karoo and its houses after your post–thanks for the intro πŸ™‚ Looks lovely πŸ™‚

  6. JBro says:

    The country is beautiful, but it pales in comparison to the warmth of the Georgian people!

  7. JBro says:

    I always speak the truth πŸ™‚ and I am always right πŸ™‚

    • sputnitsa says:

      *is confunded*

      Oh wait. You must be a DIFFERENT JBro. I was thinking you were my crazy friend JBro. She may always speak the truth, but usually it is a crazy truth that, when it hits on right or wrong, always does so from the zaniest of angles. *nod*

      πŸ™‚

  8. Chef Premier says:

    check out my blog http://chefpremier.wordpress.com to learn more about restaurants in Tbilisi and Georgia

Leave a Reply

