And the Prize for “Most Creative Use of the Word Brief” Goes to…

I’m online, and as per my wont, I’m reading history. Why use modern technology for anything else?

And I come across something I think will be interesting.  It’s called A Brief History of France.  Which is quite perfect, really, because I don’t intend to spend much time learning more about France. Not before supper.

So I read on, to the next line, which is a subtitle.  And I kid you not–I kid you not–this is what it says:

Prehistoric France

I blink, and check the webpage name again. Yes, I’m still in the Brief History. A little smile, and I peak into the next line.

During the last ice age humans called Cro-Magnons lived in France.

Ah. This of course sets me to thinking (which takes an odiously long amount of time, particularly as it involves chortling and then blogging)–at any rate, I find myself wondering, What, pray tell, would the LONG history of France include?

🙂 Ah, France.

I know you doubt me, you, so here’s the link. 🙂  Make sure you put aside a minute or two.  Because it’s brief.

The d00d who started it all (in a Cloisters doorway)

More on the doorway above (and a photo of the entire thing) from the Met site.

Oh, and lest you read the site and find yourself wanting to note that it IS brief considering the length of time covered, allow me to note in advance that a loyal brief overview would have kept the post 1780s sections as brief as the 16th century or 17th century sections. But no, come the Revolution, the site forgets all in its glorification, and suddenly the Cro-Magnons are feeling abandoned and miniscule.  Which is not a fun feeling. Let us not to the Cro-Magnons admit impediment.

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in foiled again, funny, history and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And the Prize for “Most Creative Use of the Word Brief” Goes to…

  1. Har har! Too funny.

    For something so…uh…”brief”, it’s also a bit simplistic: “He converted to Christianity and his people followed. Once they shared the same religion there was less difference between the Franks and the native Romano-Gallic people.”

    um yeah. I’m sure it went down as smoothly as all that…

Leave a Reply

