My Sea Legs

I do not have sea legs, and never got any while on the cruise.  So why are people asking me if I’ve regained my land legs?  Further, what useful creature HAS viable sea legs in the first place?  And don’t tell me the crab.  Unless you can back it up.

I’m back from a wonderful cruise (read: fantastic time with family, and beautiful travels, but a visible lack of sea-leg hardiness), and still when I nod I feel like the earth is rolling, and when I tap my foot at my desk I feel like the earth is shaking.

Eek!  Last night I adjusted the pillows and clung to my bed in case I got tossed off it into the rocking sea below.  And of course this was on the island of Manhattan, which has never seemed to sway before.

Please, stop swirling and rocking and rolling and crashing, world!

(and until my land legs allow me to parse through interesting cruise photos, here’s a random much-loved math photo!) 🙂

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in random info. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Sea Legs

  1. LilliCray says:

    Waterbugs have sealegs.

    Well, they do. ^.^

    Two summers ago, I took a boat ride up the Missouri River with a church group. It was at least a month before the world stopped being all river-y rocker-y on me. Hope it doesn’t take as long for you. Not a fun experience, as I’m sure you’ve noticed. ^.^

    • LilliCray says:

      Oh, edit: you said “useful” creature. In that case, I have no answer. ^.^

      …I wish we had that 😀 smiley from AW. The green one with huge teeth. That certainly has more impact than ^.^!

      • sputnitsa says:

        hahaha! too true. They are ew-worthy, at least. I wonder if they do have a “purpose.” Then again, one could ask that about us, too 🙂

        And agreed on the icon front!! 🙂

    • sputnitsa says:

      Ewwwwwwwwww! 🙂

      And as for the River ride. Egad! A month is a terrifyingly long time to feel that way!! I’m gllad you’re better–and no longer taking such rides, I hope 🙂

      I’m almost all better. I still very much don’t like when people sway, though. I find I cannot tell them this, though, or they throw themselves into a sway, just to see me react. Very cruel. But life is, isn’t it. 🙂

  2. Kasia says:

    Oi, you will be at sea unless you send moi une carte postale! J’attends! ;p

    • sputnitsa says:

      Hahaha! Actually, it’s so sad, but I have not forgotten. Sadly was at sea and then sick, but will look out for that perfect NY card 🙂 🙂 Promise! Your postcard is currently my bookmark, btw 🙂

      xoxoxo!

  3. ralfast says:

    I love cruise ships and I have no problems with sea sickness.

    Waterbugs, as in roaches?

    Where my boot!

    😀

  4. A cruise sounds like so much fun! I’ve never been on one before, so I don’t know if I’d get seasick or not. But I am so willing to take the risk! 🙂

Leave a Reply

