Paper Art

So I have reached the conclusion: sometimes it’s okay to cut a book up.  But basically only if you’re Su Blackwell.  When she does it, fiction comes to life in a most magical, delicate way.  (And the image she brings to life is made of the very pages describing it in the book.  So cool!)

Not sure if you agree?  Check these out and get back to me.  🙂

The Old House 2007, by Su Blackwell

The Girl in the Wood, by Su Blackwell

The Girl in the Wood (detail), by Su Blackwell

Alice: Through the Looking Glass 2007, by Su Blackwell

Alice: A Mad Tea Party 2006, by Su Blackwell

While You Were Sleeping II, by Su Blackwell (I think)

     

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in art, books, Su Blackwell and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Paper Art

  1. ralfast says:

    Ok, just her and no one else.

  2. Beth says:

    Wow. That’s really fantastic stuff. The blooming book is beautiful.

    • sputnitsa says:

      I know–she’s magic! I wasn’t expecting to fall in love with anything at the exhibit, but VOILA, in comes Su Blackwell… If you check out her website, she has bunches of other pieces that are exquisite.

      I couldn’t find any good online photos of Rapunzel 2009, which was the piece on display. Amazing. 🙂

      • Beth says:

        When/where was the exhibit?
        The other work on her website is brilliant, too. I love the Chatsworth, Derbyshire work as well.

        • sputnitsa says:

          The Museum of Arts and Design in NewYork has an exhibit now on paper arts, if I can call it that. She has one piece there–Rapunzel 2009. But I loved it well enough to jot her name down in my little notebook and spend the next day staring at image after image of her art online 🙂 🙂 🙂

          Where did you find her Chatsworth and Derbyshire work?

          🙂 Yay, I’m so glad you found something to love in her work too 🙂 🙂

  3. Beth says:

    Chatsworth, Derbyshire is on her website–just a picture or two, but enough to capture the imagination!
    🙂

  4. Those are absolutely incredible. I can’t stop staring at them. My favorites are The Girl in the Woods, and Alice’s Tea Party.

  5. J says:

    These are absolutely incredible!

  6. Maleah says:

    I wonder if she’d let me use The Girl in The Wood picture for a story I’m writing. It’s PERFECT!

Leave a Reply

