This morning I imagined being broke.

It wasn’t a great stretch.  I mean, I’ve done broke before.  Plus each piece of furniture has necessitated a broke period; in many ways I’ve been lurching from one paycheck to another ever since coming back from Peace Corps.

But I’ve been thinking some more about Dao Hai Phong, my fave artist.  Thinking about him led to looking for his paintings online.  Looking for his paintings online led to falling in love with new paintings of his online.  And falling in love with his new paintings led to my trying to distract myself by looking at other artists’ work.  And that resulted in finding two new artists to love.  Which of course led to my mental calculus of how much I make per month, and how I could save to buy a piece of art.  Which led to me imagining being broke.  Again.

It also led to me imagining the art in my apartment.

None of this led to my cleaning the apartment, though.

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in art. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to This morning I imagined being broke.

  1. Beth says:

    I foresee this being a problem with me, too. 😀
    Who are the other artists?

    • sputnitsa says:

      I can see another art post is going to happen pretty soon 🙂

      His name is Nguyen Thanh Chuong, and he’s also Vietnamese. I love his vivid colors, but the serene calm that floats about some of his works. He does lacquer on wood. I heart his work. 🙂

      It turns out I like quiet a few Vietnamese painters, after all. 🙂 Yep, I sense a Ruth’s Fave Vietnamese Painters post coming…. 🙂 🙂 (And no cleaning)

  2. Sput,

    Do you have a favorite art period or movement?

    • sputnitsa says:

      You know what, I can’t say I do.

      I used to love impressionism above all and loathe modern art, but I can’t say that’s strictly true anymore. In recent years I’ve been gravitating more and more toward some contemporary art, especially a few Thai artists. There’s also a great contemporary British artist–not a painter, per se. Her name’s Su Blackwell. LOVELY stuff. She cuts up some pages from books–I know, a terrifying start, but wait for it–and then creates a physical scene from the book which rises above the page, made from the very pages of the book. It’s sort of magical. Her stuff is also outside my price range. I checked after seeing her Rapunzel 2009 at the Museum of Arts and Design.

      My favorite two Vietnamese painters use vivid colors. Dao Hai Phong in oil, and Nguyen Thanh Chuong in lacquer. I also find Tran Quoc Vinh appealing, almost despite myself.

      I like Rothko, Klee, John William Waterhouse, Modigliani… Still love Monet… I like the gold leaf Chinese art. Love Rodin’s sculptures, and the Greek statues. And I love friezes.

      What about you?

  3. My favorite movements as a whole are Romanticism, Pre- Raphaelites, and Surrealism.

    I think I’m one of the few people who’s not crazy about Impressionism.

  4. I love so many. Some of the first artists that pop into my head are: Rossetti, Leonor Fini, Jean Delville, Caspar David Friedrich, Botticelli, Renoir, Degas, Delacroix, Evelyn de Morgan, Mucha…really, too many to name! 🙂

Leave a Reply

