It wasn’t what I was expecting.

Not that I had great expectations.  Mostly, I just expected the same old.  Which I quite love.

But instead, as I turned the page of my delicious new book–Holderlin’s Hymns and Fragments–and absent-mindedly looked out the living room window, I saw something quite unusual.

Not, I will grant, unusual in and of itself.  After all, people do bathe.  They just don’t usually do so in front of me. 

It turns out that across the street, there’s several floors of the building which have 6-foot high windows in the shower.  In the shower, ladies and gents.  Not just in the bathroom, but in the shower.

At first I thought it was a woman getting dressed, and that she kept her armoire awfully close to the window, and ought be told.  Then I noticed the person manically scramble their hair and thought, hm, when I do that, I’m usually…washing it.   And oftentimes this happens rather far from my armoire.

Then the person, who was becoming, on closer scrutiny, a butt-nekkid man, began a love affair with his body that more closely resembled washing it than dressing it.  Huh. 

I turned the page.  Someone ought tell that man he needs a curtain, I thought.

A few minutes later I looked up again.  What on earth was that guy doing now?  Strange exercises, it appeared.  Then I realized.  He was squeegeeing.  Way too much. 

Seriously, I thought, rather than squeegee your own thin veil away, why not move your bath a few meters away from the window and invest in a curtain?

Marvelous.  Apparently I DO have a room with a view.  And I need curtains.  🙂

Stonework in Sighnaghi, Republic of Georgia

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in life, mornings, New York, random info, whatnot and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It wasn’t what I was expecting.

  1. ralfast says:

    HA! Sorry, but from the safety of my computer that sounds very funny. I imagine that the view up close was a bit different, no?

    🙂

  2. Damn, that’s funny!

    The dude must be an exhibitionist. Who else would have a window in their shower? It’s not normal decor.

Leave a Reply

