The Apple is an Orange: Update on The Appointment

I’m the first to admit it.  I have my moments.  Oblivious moments.

Like when the protagonist of Fight Club makes his big reveal, at the very end.  You know the moment, when the whole audience gasps and a few shrewd folks nod self-importantly.  Yeah, I neither gasped nor nodded.  You see, dear reader, I thought the character was deluding himself.  Or to be more precise, I thought he was talking rubbish.  I heard him out and waited for truth, for the denouement.  When the credits rolled immediately thereafter, I was gobsmacked.  What had just happened??

What had happened, gentle reader, is that I was an idiot.

However, there are times when it’s not just me being a moron.  Yes, it’s hard to believe, but it’s true.  Which leads me to my update on the book I was so excited about last week: The Appointment

Turns out, the blurb is misleading.  Utterly misleading.  Which was effed up.

Now, if I’m handed a mug of steaming beverage and told it’s tea, when it’s in fact coffee, regardless of whether I prefer coffee or tea, my first reaction upon tasting it is: this is wrong.  Something’s very wrong.

The Appointment was well-written and interesting.  But that blurb is rudely misleading.  At a certain point one stops savoring each moment for itself, and instead begins waiting for what the blurb suggests is a turning point—the turning point.  The story.  Which is a disservice to any book, interesting or not.

It’s one thing not to judge a book by its graphic cover.  But one does hope the blurb is honest.  If you do read the book, for your own sake and the author’s, imagine you haven’t read the last line of the blurb, about the street with the fearful thing that terrifies the heroine more than her appointment.  It’s a misstatement and it ruins the read by setting up your expectations for something that is not the story at all.

Annoyance.  Meh.  And now to write a happier post.  But I didn’t want to basically mis-blurb the book myself by not warning you…

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in accuracy, books, whatnot and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Apple is an Orange: Update on The Appointment

  1. ralfast says:

    Book blurbs, like movie trailers, always lie.

    😉

    • sputnitsa says:

      I don’t know… Sometimes they give too much away, like movie trailers, but I don’t think either ALWAYS lie 🙂 This one, though… Was super frustrating, because it was the last line that made me buy the book. And that was the line that was off. :-/

  2. ralfast says:

    Either way they are not entirely reliable.

Leave a Reply

