Scene and Heard

Had a wild nightmare last night.  Woke up fresh at 5:07am, and proved it by falling asleep again for 20 minutes.  Then while I made coffee in the still-dark apartment, I heard a stranger’s phone ringing in my living room.

I froze for a second, and then melted back into pouring the brew and stirring it.  I’d simply set a different ring to my alarm, that’s all.

But these two things worked wonders.  The scene I thought I’d work on disappeared; another took its place and how!  First really good scene day in a while.  The inspiration was up, the atmosphere there, the characters invested…  Awesome scene day, all because of something heard…  🙂

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in coffee, mornings, scenes, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

