I’ve been remiss…

I don’t know how it happened, my not blogging this week.  I fell into a flurry of books these past few days.  Since Tuesday I’ve read a book each day.  I don’t remember a thing before Tuesday… 

It all started with the BRILLIANT T.S. Elliot.

1.  Murder in the Cathedral – T.S. Elliot
2.  The Name of this Book is Secret – Pseudonymous Bosch
3.  The Monster Loves Its Labyrinth – Charles Simic (poetry)
4.  The Waste Land and Other Poems – T.S. Elliot (poetry)
5.  Magyk – Angie Sage
6.  Fingersmith – Sarah Waters

And then some side-reading into Memory’s Library by Jennifer Summit (brilliant), Library: An Unquiet History by Matthew Battles (brilliant), The Cistercians by Stephen Tobin, and Rilke’s collected poetry.

My mind, my eyes…are fried.

I promise to put aside these books for at least tonight, and to reemerge with bloggarificness.  🙂 🙂 🙂

I do have one new fact to share: 

Ever wondered how many new books the Library of Congress adds to its shelves each year?  7,000.
Crikey.  🙂

I hope you’re all well!!! 🙂

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in books, random info and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I’ve been remiss…

  1. Beth says:

    I remember trying to read The Waste Land in high school. I should give it another try now that I’m older. 🙂
    Alas, I haven’t read much recently. Hopefully that will be amended soon!

    • sputnitsa says:

      Oh, you know what, if you’ve read a bit about Henry II’s assassination of Thomas Beckett, the book to read is Murder in the Cathedral. It’s also T.S. Elliot and it’s brilliant. Brilliant. *hearts it*

      🙂 Let me know what you think of Waste Land. I had a friend in Peace Corps who used to recite parts for me when we were bored, so it brings me back to a time when all I had was those words in a parched land, in a language much-missed. Some parts I love, others… *shrug* 🙂

      • Beth says:

        I’ll have to read Murder in the Cathedral! My friend and I were talking about the murder of Thomas Beckett a week or so ago.
        With hope, I’ll read Murder… over Christmas. I think I may have read part of it in high school (or all of it, I can’t recall). I’ll let you know what I think of it!

  2. Yarnspnr says:

    She LIVES!! Nice to swim in the words of some truly excellent authors. Good for you! I’ve been boxing up books and music and dvds for the big move starting next Monday. I’ll be dead for a couple of weeks until everything is delivered. Rip it down, build it up. Easy as that, hey?

    • Kasia says:

      Yarnspnr, I feel for you. I have already moved my belongings across (there were belongings in amongst the crap)…and found that I have never EVER been so tired in all my life. Good luck! I suggest a really nice holiday after your move – to recover!

    • sputnitsa says:

      Hahaha! Yeah, it’s been a bit crazy. Last night I resolved not to read anything–even signs on stores. My eyes needed rest. With nothing to gaze at, I ended up falling asleep around 8pm. Woke up refreshed at 4:48 am, and got some good writing done. 🙂

      You’re moving so soon!!! Wow. Good luck and be careful of your back. 🙂

  3. Kasia says:

    You have indeed been remiss! Naughty, naughty! 😉 I approve of your reading list – some there that I would like to try. 🙂
    Ruth, I’m getting a new boiler for the flat – £1,600 EXCLUDING VAT… OooooooooW! Sore!
    Also, please send me your postal address, so that I can send you some nice snail mail. 🙂 x

    • sputnitsa says:

      I know, I know! You’re so right.

      Listen, this stuff, this adult buying stuff–it’s terrifying. Can you desist? Oh wait… actually, don’t. Boilers are important. 🙂

      I’ve been asking around about how much apartments in the city cost–so I can even have something to save toward. Let’s just say: OUCH.

      Better not to imagine quite yet. I think imagining makes me need a drink. 🙂

      I’ll send my addy to you at your email addy 🙂

  4. ralfast says:

    My reading has slowed down considerably. Once I was able to read 600 pages in less than three days, now I haven’t finished the two books I started. I guess writing changes your perspective on books.

  5. Yeah, Sput’s back! You’ve been missed!

    I’ve been thinking of heading down to the mystery book shop near me and having them order, “Ghost Walk”, since you had so many good things to say about it.

    • sputnitsa says:

      Hahaha! Excellent!

      I’ve been wondering where you got your Victorian reading, actually? Your research.

      Do read Ghost Walk. 🙂 And then let me know what you think. Especially what with the second person stuff. I do think it works well. 🙂

      And you have been missed, too. Being overwhelmed and half-dead of words is truly hard for one to bear when one is also deprived of one’s beloved tramps through your blog, and everyone else’s. 🙂

  6. My non-fiction Victorian research library has been slowly growing through the years with help from my parents. Come holidays and birthdays, they know to expect a book list! And then I eagerly await my gift package. 🙂

    I buy novels in the stores here. There’s lots of English language books, and there are two stores near me which also order for free.

  7. Yup! 🙂

    The Mystery Book Shop (charmingly named, “Hammett”) has a small used English section. Plus, every Saturday there’s an outdoor fair right near me that often has people selling old English books.

    • sputnitsa says:

      NIFTY. Yummalicious, used books. I’m glad you have them nearby 🙂

      On my walk to work, on days when I leave a bit later, I pass several used booksellers on the street. I swear Barack Obama himself could be standing right in front of me, when those books are out, I see nothing else. 🙂

Leave a Reply

