and I’M the weird one…

I was squinting at my Armenian candle-holder as dusk settled around us.  It’s a lovely piece of art–a latticed blue sculpture which I’d picked up in Yerevan.  But what would it look like lit?

“D’you have a lighter?” I asked J.

“No,” she answered, as if the notion was ludicrous.  I hummed; I’d known she wouldn’t.  But she wasn’t done.  “I do have matches, though,” she said.  “In case of the end of the world.”

Uh.

“In case of the end of the world?”

“Yes.  I can’t make fire from sticks.”  She said this, I want to note, with absolute earnestness.  I blinked.

“What if the end of the world is a flood?” I asked.

J ignored me, walking away to rummage in her purse.  I collapsed into laughter.  But I still used one of her matches that she was saving for the end of the world.  🙂

And I’M the weird one.

Pile o Fun, Kazbegi, Georgia

in Kazbegi

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to and I’M the weird one…

  1. Simone says:

    But it is full of WIN!
    …And still when one considers that my sister has a contingency plan for when the computers take over and another in case of zombies well matches doesn’t seem quite as odd.
    You take care.

    • sputnitsa says:

      Hahaha! 🙂

      As J pointed out, I do carry my passport and a headlamp around everywhere. Although I don’t think of it as a contingency for “the end of the world.” 🙂

      To each their own madness, I say! 🙂 🙂 🙂 I love how utterly serious we are about each of our particular idiosyncracies. 🙂

  2. I don’t carry things around with me in case the end of the world comes. Instead, my thoughts usually go along the lines of, “It better not happen right after I actually get a novel published!”

    Because that would suck. Truly.

    • sputnitsa says:

      I think it would suck more right after an agent called to say they wanted it. 🙂

      I remember once being really depressed by something that had happened. I was in Penn Station. I told myself to get a grip. “It’s not the end of the world,” I said. And then I began to giggle. I mean, the end of the world means it’s over–no more time to cry anyway. 🙂 Well, I cheered up. Good thing my sense of humor tends to the morbid, that way. 🙂

      In any case, I hope that your book is well out ere the world comes to an end. 🙂 🙂 Heck, your bookS. 🙂

  3. ralfast says:

    Well it seems J is more than ready when the Zombie Revolution Apocalypse comes.

  4. J says:

    Well, it’s a good thing you’re not a NON FICTION writer because that’s not quite exactly how the story went…yes, the end of the world remark was serious (I do carry them in my bag for emergencies!!!), but the rubbing of sticks comment was a joke that just happened to support my cause. Either way, I just want to point out that I’ll be the one prepared when disaster hits 🙂

    • sputnitsa says:

      Heh. Your cause, m’dear, is…endearing and mad. In that sense, very much like you yourself. 🙂 🙂

      Being as how we live on an island, mayhap, of course, it’s time we all start to wear inflatable vests under our outfits.

      🙂 🙂

  5. Yarnspnr says:

    Baby Boomers – End of the world coming?

    In 1900 our grandparents crawled on their rooftops and sang hymns.
    In 1945 our parents exploded the atomic bomb.
    In the 1950s, we hid under our desks.
    In the 60s, everyone built a shelter under their backyard.
    In the 70s, we dropped acid and had sex.
    In the 80s, we either got religion or gave it up.
    At the turn of the century, we waited for our computers to take over the world.
    Today, We’re writing our senators to pass Universal Health Care. As if…
    In the future, 2012 is wearing out horses getting here.

  6. J says:

    Of course matches will help! With fire, we have food, warmth, light, and pyromaniacs 🙂

Leave a Reply

