First Draft Joys

I finally am getting to the point where the insanity of moving and changing jobs is receding somewhat, and although internet isn’t hooked up at my new place yet, I’m getting back into the groove of writing in the mornings.

To get back in the mood of my story, I have been re-reading parts of it.  And I have to say…  I like it.  🙂

Isn’t it the most awesome feeling, to read a story you’ve written and find you love the story?  Of course, the goal is that others love it, and there are definitely gaps and weaknesses which need much work.  I’ve been jotting down the gaps–as in “I haven’t shown how D gets free by garden scene”–but leaving the weaknesses for the second draft.  I literally can’t wait until Friday morning, when at last I will have my first three day weekend to write, write, WRITE!  🙂

Oh, haven’t I mentioned?  I have three-day weekends at my new job.  Hello, writing time!

How are you guys doing?  Any joys or travails to share? 🙂

Victory is Ours!

Victory is Ours!

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to First Draft Joys

  1. ralfast says:

    And I was thinking about my current story and I felt exactly the opposite. Lack of motivation on the part of some characters. I mean I know they have reasons for doing what their doing, but it doesn’t show, yet. Oh well, back to the drawing board.

    • sputnitsa says:

      Hm, so it’s character resonance that’s not workig yet, but the story is? Or does story get impacted by character very much for you?

      Speaking of which, have we discussed whether you find your work character-driven or plot-driven? And, any commonalities among the characters who aren’t working quite right yet?

      • ralfast says:

        I like to think they are character driven, but the plot is not far behind. And yes, lack of motivation does affect the story, I mean it’s the why things happen or at least the how the character react to things and the why behind their reactions to events. It is a first draft after all, but usually I am pretty confident about first drafts and even when it comes to revision/editing I don’t tend to stray to far from the original.

        • sputnitsa says:

          Yeah, I think this draft may not be as bad as I feared at first. Do you have vascillating reactions to your work at different points of your process–as in regarding the exact same piece of writing read at different times? 🙂 I still think there are CRAP parts, but there’s stuff I love in it now.

  2. MauiPotiki says:

    Oh wow! Someone else is moving too? Damn I hate this moving crap. I guess maybe I should go back and read something I’ve written to get me back into the swing of writing again. Good luck with your project tho. I’m still working on some local graffiti for you.

    • sputnitsa says:

      I kind of like the moving, to be honest with you, but part of the reason I didn’t have a meltdown is that I decided ahead of time not to plan on writing for two weeks, which allowed me to focus on moving/settling in without feeling guilty about the writing pause. Now I’m back and it’s ever so slightly harder to get up at 5:02 than it was a scant two weeks ago, but I’m writing and it rocks. 🙂 But I think your move was larger than mine–time zones changed, didn’t they?

      Definitely read back to get inspiration for the ongoing writing. Where are you with your writing right now?

      Lookin’ forward to the graffiti! 🙂 And I’ll post some more soon, too.

  3. ralfast says:

    Oh and thanks for suggesting the theme to my next blog post. 😉

  4. Beth says:

    I’ll reread short stories and find that I like them. As for my first novel…I liked a paragraph.
    I’m glad that your novel is going well! I can’t wait to really jump into mine.

    • sputnitsa says:

      Ooh, so you’re a short story person too! I admire that. I don’t have that skill…

      How are you with your story right now and your research? Got any women characters you like yet? 🙂

      Good luck!!! and with university too 🙂

      • Beth says:

        Research is going well; I found an excellent book and my mom surprised me with Churchill’s History of WWII.
        I do have a couple of women characters that I like! Hurray!
        I need to work on short stories; I find that I think in terms of novels.

        Thanks for the luck!

        • sputnitsa says:

          Awesomeness. 🙂

          Do you have a set time when you’ll start the story-writing, or a sense if you’re going to end up writing the plot up before getting into the writing? All your research makes me think that’s how you’re going, but then again, I’m researching as I write and am utterly and uberly a write-by-the-seat-of-my-pants-er 🙂

          I’m glad you’re crafting some women characters that excite you 🙂

  5. Beth says:

    Alas, with classes being tougher than I expected, research is limited to my bedtime reading. I’ve actually been writing a few scenes here and there as my research inspires me. Characters have been in the works for a few months.
    As for plot? I’m getting a few strands here and there. My goal was to start story-writing by November, but I’ll start when I’m comfortable with the material. Could be this weekend, could be next month. 😀

  6. Pingback: An Update on the WIP « She Thinks Too Much

  7. Yarnspnr says:

    Glad to hear you’re alive and well. I missed this entry. Too busy the doggies and the wife is addicted to Scrabble on the computer so I have to wait for time. Glad to hear your writing is taking off again! Always a blessing when that happens!

  8. Pingback: Ploting the Characters or Driving the Plot? « Neither Here nor There….

  9. matthewgraybosch says:

    Haven’t done much new writing; I’ve just been polishing existing scenes and posting them on Absolute Write’s “Share Your Work” forum. I knew I’d need a third draft, but the crits are pretty harsh. 🙂

    Besides, my wife gave me a copy of Persona for my birthday, and it’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

