“I don’t think it’s going to take that long…”

So apparently I sound like a broken record player.  I’ll fall silent for a while and close my eyes, and then break into whatever show’s on with a hopeful, “I don’t think it’s going to take that long.”  Each time sounding insistently optimistic, seeking agreement.

J thinks it is going to take a long time.

But… I really don’t think it’s going to take that long.  Got about fifteen boxes of books, one large suitcase, two carry-ons, three boxes of stuff, one box of toiletries, and three boxes of clothes.  And four tiny boxes of random stuff.  Plus one dresser, one desk and one small end table.  Not that much, right?  Plus two dollies and three people doing the moving.

It shouldn’t take that long, right?

I don’t think it’s going to take that long.  In fact, I’m willing to bet it won’t.  I say moving me out will take one hour.  And moving me in will take 1.5 hours.  In total, I’m willing to bet the whole move will take 4 hours and 20 minutes.  That’s it.

That’s right.  And when I update, the truth will be told.  What do you reckon–am I being crazy?  🙂

Georgian Batik Art

Georgian Batik Art

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in moving, whatnot and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “I don’t think it’s going to take that long…”

  1. Yarnspnr says:

    15 boxes of books – that’s approx 150-200 books. You don’t say how many floors they have to be brought down nor how many floors they must go up. Are there elevators or just stairs. If just stairs, that will effect the time line. Books are heavy unless they’re all paperbacks but even still, more dense then the other items, hence, heavier.

  2. Yarnspnr says:

    This is a quick move! Should be no more than an hour and a half, depending on drive time and if you have a dolly. Good luck and enjoy your new flat!

  3. sputnitsa says:

    I was right!!! We were supposed to start at 8 and finish in 4 hours and 20 minutes, wrapping us up at 12:20–including picking up the van and dropping it off. We ended up starting at 8:30, and we wrapped up at 12:25.

    So I was right! And it’s done! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Weeee!!!

    Thanks for the good luck wishes and good thoughts sent my way! Now I only have a million things to do for the place. 🙂 A good problem to have. 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

