When Bureaucracies Come Up With Acronyms,

Hilarity can ensue.  Making one wonder…was that the secret intention all along?

Case in point.  Take this excerpt from a UN document on the Millenium Development Goals:

Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics (NUTS)

The NUTS is a single uniform breakdown of territorial units defined for EU Member States and Candidate Countries by EUROSTAT.  It provides a classification or harmonization of measurement of sub-national regions and administrative levels for the purposes of regional comparisons.  The aim of using NUTS is to ensure that regions of comparable size all appear at the same level, making it possible to compare policies from one country at a certain NUTS level with policies from another country at the same NUTS level.

Tell me that’s not delicious.  🙂  It’s boringly phrased, yes.  But… it does allow for a fantastic last sentence, doesn’t it?  🙂 🙂

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in acronyms, bureaucracies, funny, jargon, random info and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When Bureaucracies Come Up With Acronyms,

  1. ralfast says:

    It’s just plain NUTS, that is.

  2. hope101 says:

    I personally find this post offensive!!! I am the writer of this document, which I’ll have you know took eleventy-three rewrites and required the agreement of five government agencies before final approval. And now, to see it up on a website, being mocked before all of the world… Ugh! Let’s just say that the next time you want your driver’s license renewed, there will be trouble awaiting you, Miss Sputnitsa.

    I.B. Joken, chief administrator for Bonds, Borders, and Legal Licenses (B.A.L.L.)

    • sputnitsa says:

      Muwa-hahahahahahahaha!!!

      See, but I know you couldn’t write the above. The above would be beneath you. 😉

      I do bet, seriously, that some smart writers might have consciously decided to poke fun at the bureaucracy by making up that acronym… In which case, I salute them. 🙂 Hee hee

  3. Yarnspnr says:

    Let’s face it. Countries are like guys. Put ’em against a wall and their NUTS levels are all over the place!

    (Did I just say that?) :0

Leave a Reply

