I’m sure I’m not the only one to use vodka like this. Right?

So I was moving stuff around in the apartment today.  You know, to feel productive.  (J, if you’re reading this:  SURPRISE!)

Anyway, I stepped on something.  The kind of thing that makes you shut your mouth way tight, scrunch up your face and grab your foot.  I don’t even know what the bleep that thing is.  Some sort of star-shaped nail.  Who needs a star-shaped nail???

After I removed it from my poor foot, I clutched the dear appendage to me and hopped to the freezer.  Where, of course, I grabbed the vodka.

So far this is all familiar to you, right?  You do this too, right?  This is your first response too, right?

I take your silence as agreement of the most fervent kind.

Then I completed my acrobatic tour of the apartment, hopping from the kitchen to the bathroom, whereupon I plunged my foot into a stream of the coldest water known to man.  Once I recovered from the shock enough to kind of clean it, I opened the vodka, took a test sip, and poured it on my foot.

You do this too, right?

My foot feels better.  Colder, too.

Ahem.  You DO do this, right?

🙂

Crisp Cold Like Vodka--The Road to Mount Kazbegi, Republic of Georgia

Crisp Cold Like Vodka--The Road to Mount Kazbegi, Republic of Georgia

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in perils of housework, photos, whatnot and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m sure I’m not the only one to use vodka like this. Right?

  1. ralfast says:

    Alcohol yes. I mean you need to clean the wound. I done it before, and it hurts like hell. But it’s either that or a gangrene so hears to you!

  2. hope101 says:

    Hahaha! You have a sense of comedy, m’dear that hasn’t come out in the other posts I’ve read. More, more, more. (Of course you know I’d say that, with my reading tastes.)

    And as for the alcohol solution, I’m on board. Except mine would be one of those fruity drinks with the umbrella that makes your eyes hurt. 🙂

    • sputnitsa says:

      Hahahaha!!!

      Well, your foot would taste fantastic!!! Hahaha! 🙂 🙂 🙂

      And thank you. Fortunately, mishaps invite comedy, and I invite mishaps, so we are perfectly paired. 🙂

  3. Yarnspnr says:

    Well, you’re certainly resourceful no doubt about that. That’s quite a combo you describe – you and a drunken foot! Did you walk it off or did you wake up the next day with a heelache? 🙂

Leave a Reply

