Spooky

I swear, I’m sitting here trying to write a blog post and I can hear PHANTOM TYPING on my laptop, as if my book’s begging to be written.

Or… *gasp*  as if my antagonist is UP TO SOMETHING!

I must dash off–

New York

New York

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in antagonists, photos, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spooky

  1. bigwords88 says:

    I’ve never heard phantom typing on my keyboard, but a few years back I did discover a strange quirk in my VCR. Do you remember the ones which had the big (the really BIG) buttons which had to be pressed down with some force to record a program off the television? Those types were slightly cheaper than the nicer ones, and I was on a money-saviing mission.

    So, the VCR was set up correctly, and I had no problems with it for a few weeks, but it began recording programs during the day when I was out of the house. It couldn’t be set up by anyone else, and I always locked the front door when I went out. I looked at the list of reminders and scheduled recordings, but both were empty. Still haven’t worked out what happened, but I’m sure there must have been a poltergeist in that apartment.

    It wasn’t even shows I watched, so I’m miffed at how they ended up being recorded.

    • sputnitsa says:

      That’s hilarious!! 🙂

      Some of my friends still tease me because a few years back I thought I had a mysterious intruder regularly making his way into my kitchen to eat my blueberries. I kept seeing purple marks on my stove, you see, and fewer berries than I thought I’d left.

      Until one day I realized that I was in the habit of putting plastic grocery bags on my stove top as I filled the fridge with food, and…their colors were smudging off onto the surface in the heat.

      *headsmack*

      Not sure about your poltergeist, but next time you get a new VCR, just leave a note in the house telling him or her what programs you’d prefer, this time. In fact, let the poltergeist do all the setting up; why should you suffer? 🙂 🙂

  2. ralfast says:

    And off she goes! 😀

    • sputnitsa says:

      Hahahaha! Yeah, if ANYONE’S gonna be tapping on my keyboard, it had better be me! 🙂

      Hm, unless my protagonists have a better idea. *glares at them* 🙂

  3. No phantom typing or VCRs, but once in awhile our television set would pop on during an electrical storm. That was quite a spooky happening after midnight.

    • sputnitsa says:

      Hahaha! My friend’s A/C turns off and on based on its own will. Sometimes it’ll turn off when she changes channels on the TV. I guess it likes what it likes, and won’t put up with us if we’re not watching the right program! 🙂

      I keep imagining you popping out of bed, alarmed, when Dick Van Dyke comes on at 2:00 am for no reason 🙂

  4. ralfast says:

    I had a friend of mine who claimed his car was hunted. But then again, running over a decapitated head at 3:45 a.m. in a back country road would do that.

    • sputnitsa says:

      *shudder*

      *shudder again*

      It’s comments like this that make me feel justified opening the box of Godiva chocolates I bought for dinner tonight with friends. I mean, opening it now and sitting down with a glass of sweet wine. Which is, Ralfast, what I am now going to do.

      As they say, “Eat, drink and be merry….”

      *sigh* Gotta love life while ya got it.

      • matthewgraybosch says:

        Indulge while you can, and remember the wisdom offered Gilgamesh:

        What you seek, you shall never find.
        For when the Gods made man,
        They kept immortality for themselves.
        Fill your belly.
        Day and night make merry,
        Let Days be full of joy.
        Love the child that holds your hand.
        Let your wife delight in your embrace.
        For these alone are the concerns of man.

  5. matthewgraybosch says:

    I don’t experience phantom typing, but every once in a while I have to chase my cat away from my Mac and close the terminal session he opened. I swear, that furball is doing something with my computer. I hope it involves cracking the IRS and arranging a nice big tax refund for me, and not a nice game of global thermonuclear war.

    • sputnitsa says:

      Hahaha! If he’s that good, rent him out to others too, for a shot at the jackpot or something. 🙂

      I like Gilgamesh’s wisdom. I ended up opening the box of Godiva’s. Eight chocolates sat there expectantly, and I felt it would be appropriate to eat one with a glass of wine. So I did. Then I thought, a second one would be delicious. And it turned out, I was right. Then I thought, I could tidy up this place and then have one as a reward. And I did. And it was good.

      The girls got a laugh when I brought out that gorgeous Godiva box and offered them the remains. 🙂 This morning I’m drinking my coffee and the last little chocolate is waiting for me… I’ll raise it to Gilgamesh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

