The Reason I Keep Getting Up at 5:02am:

Discipline is remembering what you want.

David Campbell

And I want to tell my story and finish my book.  So far, 1K this morning.  I have about one hour before I leave.  Enough for another thousand?

Do you have any favorite quotes that help inspire you in life, be they about work or attitude or hope or perseverance…or anything?

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in discipline, mornings, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Reason I Keep Getting Up at 5:02am:

  1. lucidlunatic says:

    Good grief, I could not write in the mornings. Getting up in the morning is fairly easy. I get up at 5:00am whenever I’m on a regular schedule in order to go running or to the gym. My thoughts tend to hit me while doing things, however, and I have yet to be struck by an interesting thought while brushing my teeth or working out early in the morning. Now, afternoon runs, those are an entirely separate matter. All kinds of strange ideas hit me when the sun is well and properly up in the sky.

    • sputnitsa says:

      I guess it’s a good thing interesting thoughts don’t hit while you’re brushing your teeth, I guess. 🙂 Usually I get into the groove by reading over what I last wrote. And then I take notes during the day when thoughts hit–for me the creative ones do tend to happen when I’m walking, or waiting for something else entirely, or in the subway, etc. But that’s exactly when I can’t actually sit down and write 🙂

      And…unlike you, I can’t for the life of me run in the afternoon. I need to do it in the morning, when I’m not quite awake enough to remember how much I hate starting. 🙂

  2. lucidlunatic says:

    And as for quotes that inspire me, I generally turn towards ‘Somebody Has to’ by Shel Silverstein.

    Somebody has to go polish the stars,
    They’re looking a little bit dull.
    Somebody has to go polish the stars,
    For the eagles and starlings and gulls
    Have all been complaining they’re tarnished and worn,
    They say they want new ones we cannot afford.
    So please get your rags
    And your polishing jars,
    Somebody has to go polish the stars.

    • sputnitsa says:

      🙂 That is evocative!

      And clearly made for folks writing into the evenings or deep into the night. 🙂 But beautiful 🙂

      I keep thinking I want to take a night to write in–I get into a different zone at night… And then that morning, sleep in.

  3. So, that’s who you are on AW. *giggles*. (I was going down the “did you update your blog” thread)

    Nice to find another nut who gets up so early. I usually roll out of bed between four or five.

    That’s a great quote by the way. Here’s one I love: “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you
    did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from thesafe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.Explore. Dream. Discover.”
    – Twain

    Hope you got your other 1 K.

    • sputnitsa says:

      I noticed you send an early post! I wondered if you were over the ocean, or if you were an early riser, or if maybe both were true. 🙂

      Between FOUR and five? That… That’s amazing. I’ve been thinking about rolling it back a bit, getting up at 4:37 (I hate rounded hours and half hours), but I’ve never dealt well with “4” in the morning. It seems… I don’t know. Maybe I CAN do it. 🙂 It would give me an extra hour…

      The Twain quote is great. It’s one of my faves, too.

      Oh, here’s another one I love, from Rumi–it’s perfect for morning people 🙂

      The breeze at dawn has secrets to tell you.
      Don’t go back to sleep.
      You must ask for what you really want.
      Don’t go back to sleep.
      – Rumi

      And one other one, it’s from Nikos Kazantzakis.

      “Reach what you cannot.”

      Thanks for the good wishes on the second 1K. I got 450 or so, so less than desired. But I did wash the dishes too… *grimace* 🙂

  4. Beth says:

    My favorite quote is:
    “Easy reading is damn hard writing.”–Nathaniel Hawthorne

    You’re making good progress!

    • sputnitsa says:

      Beth, I sure hope you’re right, because damn hard writing is what I’ve got ahead of me!!!

      Oh, and I just saw you updated with WIP process news! Can’t wait to read it thoroughly. 🙂

  5. Jeff Winbush says:

    Sometimes you have to go on when you don’t feel like it, and sometimes you’re doing good work when it feels like all you’re managing is to shovel shit from a sitting position.

    ~ Stephen King

  6. Lillian C. says:

    Hello, fellow AWer!

    I love getting up early. I set my alarm clock for 5:01 during the school year (I hate rounded hours and half-hours, too). In the summer, I get into bad habits, though, so I don’t wake up too early then. During the school year, I don’t write early, though. (I have a strang feeling I’m making very little sense…) I go to seminary at 5:20-ish, and then head off to school as soon as I get back (around 7:00). I write before the first bell rings, but somehow I don’t think that’s quite the same as getting up early specifically to write.

    Sounds like you’re getting a lot done. Congrats!

    My favorite writin’ quote is the one by Red Smith that goes something like, “Writing is easy. All you have to do is sit down at the typewriter, open up a vein, and bleed it out drop by drop.” Too bad no one seems to agree on the wording–I’d love to know what the actual quote is.

    • sputnitsa says:

      Hey! Thanks for coming over to my blog! And well done–your time stamp managed to avoid a full hour by one minute 🙂 Love it 🙂

      Wow, another early riser who hates rounded and half-hours! I no longer feel so alone! It’s such an oddity, isn’t it? I also, btw, can never listen to a CD starting from the first song. I have to start on another one. Really, what the heck IS that? 🙂

      And no, your schedule doesn’t sound crazy. I think it’s natural that we shift in accordance with everything else have to balance. You go to seminary? As in a religious seminary? Very cool. 🙂

      And thanks on your congrats. I think we all deserve it every step of the way. Because it’s seriously uphill during so many stages!!!

      I love that quote too! I keep hearing it attributed to different people, but it’s a great one! And soooo true 🙂 🙂 🙂

  7. Kasia says:

    Afrikaans term or phrase: ‘hou die blink kant bou’ – this was a saying my father used to say to me when I was faced with adversity.

    The literal translation is ‘keep the shiny side up,’ but it’s used to mean “stay strong, stay positive, always show’em your best”.

    Just keep believing you can do it.

  8. Kasia says:

    Of course, aniother one, which I prefer in slightly more stressful situations is:

    “Damn the torpeadoes and full steam ahead!”

    Or some such.

  9. Kasia says:

    And I can’t spell…

Leave a Reply

