Surreal Anatolian View

Remember my post about that gorgeous frontier between Turkey and Iran? Β Here’s a view of the palace from below.

Ishakpasha Palace from Dogubayazit

Ishakpasha Palace from Dogubayazit

Still around the corner there may wait
A new road or a secret gate,
And though I oft have passed them by,
A day will come at last when I
Shall take the hidden paths that run
West of the Moon, East of the Sun.

~ JRR Tolkien

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in Anatolia, Dogubayazit, frontiers, photos, travel, Turkey and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Surreal Anatolian View

  1. ralfast says:

    Beautiful picture.

    Did you know that more than silk and people traveled the length of Asia through the silk route?

    Do a bit of searching for Herakles and see where he ended up!

    • sputnitsa says:

      Oh great, you’ve attacked me at my weakest. The Wiki Walk Bug strikes again! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Btw, is this knowledge you have from a prior tramp through the intoxicating wilderness that is Wiki, or is it…what is it?

      I can’t believe I’m adding “research Heracles” onto my to-do list.

      Oh wait. *sigh* I totally can. πŸ˜‰ thank you for another adventure πŸ™‚

      • ralfast says:

        Yep, it came directly from a Wiki walk, from Ancient Greece to the Hellenistic Period to Greco-India and well I won’t spoil the rest, but I added Syncretism to my vocabulary and a useful term it is.

        • sputnitsa says:

          Ralfast — Excellent πŸ™‚ And another term to look up πŸ™‚

          Btw, I opened Heracles on Wiki… And realized for the first time, after 1.5 years in Georgia, that all those guys there called Erakles are actually called…Hercules. How insane that I’d miss the obvious! What an interesting name to linger, dontcha think? πŸ™‚

        • ralfast says:

          Hercules is the Roman version of the name, which came down to us in the West through the Western Roman Empire. But Georgia being on the other side of the divide would retain the Hellenistic Greek roots (through Constantinople) even if Georgia is a Roman Catholic nation.

        • sputnitsa says:

          Nifty neat. πŸ™‚ They’re Orthodox, so it fits. πŸ™‚ Nifty πŸ™‚

        • ralfast says:

          Now why did I think they were Catholic? Epic Fail!

        • sputnitsa says:

          They’ll tell you they were the first to go Christian. Then again, the Armenians claim that honor for themselves too. They’re both orthodox, but different.

          Anyway, hardly an epic fail. πŸ™‚ Try living in a country for a year and a half, not cottoning on to the similarity between the names Erakle and Heracles, and then tell me who’s failing epically!

  2. JLC says:

    It seems so stark and barren. (And there is a beauty found in places like this.) Very cool!

Leave a Reply

