Need a Point of Reference? The Tattoo Parlor Tale

And then I had another one of my brilliant ideas.

We were in the woods, at a friend’s house, a whole group of us.  Playing made-up games like our version of Scrabble, in which players are forbidden from using real words, and must justify their made-up word by using it in a sentence.  If it passes muster, it passes and enters not only the game, but our group lexicon.  Such are the origins, future etymologists, of the words soon to sweep America:  scunt (v), figscunt (n), Haneod (exclamation), and others.

I don’t really think we were looking for something new to entertain us.  Our group never has to look.  Entertainment cleaves unto us.  But when the idea popped up, I couldn’t keep it to myself, so unfathomably genius was it.

“Hey guys!  Let’s each write down a word, either ‘tattoo’ or ‘piercing’ and put our secret words into a bowl, and then everyone has to pick a piece of paper and do whatever it is!”

Yes, that was my genius party idea.

“Oooh,” said Shawn, appreciatively, I like to think.  But then a look passed over his face.  “Wait, that kind of sucks for the tattoo people.  It’s a much greater commitment.”

“Pshaw,” I answered convincingly.

His look of concern didn’t ease, though, so I softened my approach.

“Look, the tattoo doesn’t have to be big.  It could be small.  Like, a dot.”

He frowned.  “A dot?  But tattoos should be of something.”  He had a point.  No matter, I had one too.

“Dude, don’t you see?  It could be a point of reference.”  My voice lowered in glee and delight.  Genius is in the details, folks.

“That way, if you ever state anything, and someone asks what your point of reference is, you can just lower your collar or raise your sleeve or lower your jeans and point!”  I was almost breathless in ecstatic anticipation.

This time he perked up too, and not only that, the whole group jumped in.  The only thing is, compared to having your own personal point of reference tattooed on you, a piercing seemed sort of characterless and wishy-washy.

The bowl and the entire concept of chance was abandoned.  We piled into the car, all eight of us, with Brooke and Phil singing their new song that we’re now hoping they’ll make into a book for kids, and drove to the tattoo parlor.  Another brilliant idea by yours truly.  😉  Thank god I have the kinds of friends who’ll tumble into a car on any crazy whim!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

crazy friends

my crazy friends (or an advertisement for Where the Wild Things Are?)

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in crazy, friends friends friends, funny, genius ideas, language, life, rhyme & reason and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Need a Point of Reference? The Tattoo Parlor Tale

  1. idaflutterby says:

    I wish I could do that with my friends. I’ve been begging them to go and have a tattoo together. Maybe someday. Thanks for visiting my blog!

  2. MooMoo says:

    And let’s not forget that Phil’s dot, the famous point of reference defined in no more than one dimension, identical for all of us except for placement and color, was going to be a…smiley face. To quote him: “But I want a smiley face!”
    BG

  3. sputnitsa says:

    Hahaha! One should always quote Phil. Especially in Romanian. 😉 (Where was yours going to be, again?)

    IdaFlutterby, my friends are crazy. Beloved and crazy. I rent them out on Tuesdays. 😉

    🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. spamwarrior says:

    LOL! So did you get a tat? Coolness!

    Thanks for the comment. One picture of chocolate mousse, coming up!!

    • sputnitsa says:

      You are officially crool. What? Hm. Methinks I begat a new word, a mixture of cool and cruel. I beg you, wait till 9:30pm on the 30th, when my insane diet ends. 🙂 Ah, as for the tattoo–can you believe, the guy wanted $50 per dot??? I about fainted. But it’s still on the table, should we find a cheaper dotter. No dotty idea should be abandoned, I say! 😉

  5. JLC says:

    I love that idea. “My point of reference.” Genius. 🙂 I also like your Scrabble game. Very creative and perfect for those who write fantasies and sci-fi.

    • sputnitsa says:

      Hahaha! I loved the idea too. Plus it’s such an unusual tattoo. The kind I’d *have* to tell my mom about, only to regret it later. 😉 As for our version of Scrabble, it all started one stormy night when one friend, J, insisted–insisted–that “scunt” was a word. Like she literally called someone else to verify her absolute truth. 🙂 From that point on, we couldn’t get enough of the fictional word. 🙂

  6. ralfast says:

    Connect the dots?

    😀

  7. Beth says:

    I love that idea for Scrabble! I’ll have to play it with my friends. 😀

  8. me and my brothers would always love to play scrabble every weekend, “

Leave a Reply

