Miracle on Riverside Drive

I’d been hoping for the call.  I knew it was too much to hope for, but I had.

From 5:22am till 5:50am, I sat with the phone cradled between my knees, waiting.  My eyes were fixed on the window, on the cool blue mist outside, hovering over the river.  But at 5:50, I had to accept the truth.  It was barely drizzling.  The weather was fine.  Exercise boot camp would not be cancelled for the morning.

Sighing heavily, I plugged my phone in to recharge, and got some water.  Time to perk up before class.

But instead of perking up, I slouched deeper and deeper into the armchair.  I didn’t have the energy.  I’d wait for J to get up, and for the power of peer pressure to hit me upside the head, forcing me to change for class.  Besides, I had no idea where I might find a clean sports bra.  Definitely not in the house.  I closed my eyes.

Then J came in, moments after her alarm almost brought the entire building down.

“Did you get it?” she asked excitedly, holding her phone up, like it held the key to Mecca and the afterlife.

I shut my eyes again.  “If you’re lying…”

“No, no!  It’s cancelled!”  Utter glee was suffused on her face.  I opened an eye.

“Bullshit.”

“It’s true!”  She held her phone up.

I shot up.  Stalked over.  “Bullshit,” I said louder.  Hopefully.

She turned the phone so I could read it.  I held it in shaking hands, a beaming smile breaking.

“YES!”  I leapt about the house, I jogged, I giggled, I reached for the stars, I danced, I squealed.  I pretty much squeezed a work-out in, so actively did I celebrate not having to climb up the hill for a workout.

“Well, enough of that!”  And I tossed myself into the merriment of not having to jog this morning.  We enjoyed a delicious cup of hot coffee, and I managed to fit in a short story read-through.  Roald Dahl’s little fiction piece about inventing a machine which churns out short stories and novels in minutes.  What a delightful morning!!!  YUMMINESS.

Now we’re off to work again for the day.  But I have to say, for all that I relish having had the morning off, I did happen to feel my calves today–and they’re HARD!  Yowza!  My arms are stronger too, but to my eternal shame, I still can’t open a bleedin’ bottle of wine by myself, most days.  Very sad truth.  Clearly I need another month of exercise boot camp, if only to facilitate greater ease of opening wine bottles.

(Oh, and on the topic of wine, since you ask so plaintively, I have discovered that I enjoy sweet Rieslings, Pinot Grigios, and some sparkly Kabinetts.  I’m thinking I’ll get a new Pinot Grigio…expand my horizons, what with my uber huge discount at the store.)

🙂 🙂  I hope your morning’s going as well! 🙂 🙂

Ah yes, and tomorrow’s off, so tomorrow will be a writing day for me again.  Wooohoooo!  🙂

Regrets Drawer, at an International NGO

Regrets Drawer, at an International NGO in Tbilisi, Republic of Georgia

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in coffee, escape, exercise, health, mornings, New York, Peace Corps, Republic of Georgia, wine and books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

