Transcript of My Day Today (started midstream or you would DIE living the loop with me)

Credit Card Company Verification Machine, speaking in a self-satisfied lilt:  “Did you say, ‘phone number?'”

“No.  Street address.”

“Did you say, ‘apartment number?'”

“No.  Street address.”  (Restraining the first waves of annoyance.)

“Did you say, ‘last name?'”

I take the high road and maintain a haughty silence.  I am at work, after all.

“To authorize this transaction, please say ‘yes.'”

“No.”  I enunciate this clearly.

“I’m sorry, I didn’t hear you.  Did you say ‘yes?‘”

I whimper.

“I’m sorry, I didn’t hear you.  Did you say ‘yes?””

“NO!”

“I’m sorry, I didn’t hear you.  Did you say ‘yes?'”

“Oh, Bugger!”

“Did you say ‘phone number?'”

“STREET ADDRESS!”

“Good bye!”  Clicks.

******

So I was telling J this tonight.  And she starts to chortle when she hears I was muttering such words as “bugger” to the machine, only to have it hear it as “phone number.”  Then she giggles over another thought.

“Imagine the machine had said:  ‘Did you say, bugger?’  What would you have said?”

I tell you, that would have rocked.  Would have silenced me utterly.  If you consider gales of laughter silence.

Which, I guess, I clearly do.  🙂

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in funny, work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Transcript of My Day Today (started midstream or you would DIE living the loop with me)

  1. ralfast says:

    Automation does not make everything better.

  2. sputnitsa says:

    Very, very, very true 🙂

Leave a Reply

