and the obvious answer is….

So today I discovered that I get a discount on wine at the store.  A bottle that goes for $16.99 sells to me at $10.67.  Nice, right?

So what do I do, discovering this?

That’s right, dear reader.  I return home laden with eight books I bought on the street.  In case you’re wondering at the math here, let me break it down:  because I saved $6 on wine, I spent $20 on books.  Or if you prefer the bird’s eye view, I earned $73 today and spent $32 of it within a block.  My hour to wage ratio diminishes.

Smokin’!

The wine’s chilling in the fridge now.  The books are peering at my overflowing bookshelf in a state of heightening anxiety. What will be their new home?

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in impulse buys, rhyme & reason, Uncategorized, whatnot, wine and books. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to and the obvious answer is….

  1. J says:

    What kind of wine? What kind of books?

  2. sputnitsa says:

    Why the wine ’tis a Gysler Weingut Weinheimer Riesling Kabinett of the 2007 vintage. Which is, of course, [insert smart wine knowledge I should have been absorbing, instead of simply asking again and again, “but, um, it’s sweet, right? it’s sweet, right?”] sweet and delicious. 🙂

    And the books are:

    1. The Great Automatic Grammatizor, by Roald Dahl (whom I love and whom all American kids should explore)
    2. Roald Dahl’s Book of Ghost Stories, a collection of shorts
    3. Letters to a Young Poet, by Rainer Maria Rilke (my beloved)
    4. D.H. Lawrence: The Story of a Marriage, by Brenda Maddox
    5. The Alley, by Eleanor Estes (darn! I thought it was Eager when I bought it! Ah well, exploration ahead!)
    6. The Story of the Treasure Seekers, by E. Nesbit
    7. The Phoenix and the Carpet, by E. Nesbit
    8. Five Children and It, by E. Nesbit

    Deliciousness!!! And I’m off to write in a moment, am finishing off a sip o Pinot Grigio, and then some coffee will be needed to spark wakefulness into mine old bean. 🙂

  3. sputnitsa says:

    By the by, I am taking wine recommendations from all and sundry. Should anyone care to share any. 🙂

    Sweet and light is my preference. When it comes to wine, that is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

