The Plot Thins…

A million years ago, give or take, I read and chuckled over a Snoopy comic strip featuring the line “and the plot thins,” and ever since then it’s entered my lexicon.  I usually throw it out when I discover that something I’ve taken to be mysterious is merely the utterly logical universe’s reaction to my stupidity.  For instance:

Ruth, standing wooly-brained behind the cash register, eyes crossed in confusion:  “What the–”

Person Who Knows Better:  “It’s because you typed F5 and not F4, and the invoice mixed with the previous customer.”

Ruth’s mouth drops yet lower while Person Who Knows Better is clicking and clacking away at the register until the numbers reveal some semblance of logic to the befuddled mind of one Ruth.

Ruth looks down at the price tag and then up again at the register, now reading the same price.  She sighs loudly then nods sagely at the customer.  “The plot thins.”

I tell you, “retail” sounded a lot simpler than it really is…at least to minds like mine.

Now after all that I’m pouring caffeine into my old bean in an effort to clear and recharge it for a writing session tonight.  Wish me luck, for tomorrow promises to be a tough day again.  For my Person Who Knows Better is off tomorrow.  Oy gevalt. 🙂

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in the plot thins, whatnot. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

