I Managed to Score an Interview Date with Some Amazing People: My Characters

I’m so excited!  And at the same time I’m mildly afraid of my interview with my heroine, A.

A. was originally written in as a secondary character, but she had such a personality coming in that she refused to ignore the odd things afoot and pushed my hero into taking action, tumbling into the broo-ha-ha with him.  I feel I don’t yet have a sense of her weaknesses, and it slightly frightens me to interview her.  What on earth will she tell me?  Does she know who she is?  🙂

It’s so odd, this form of realizing someone from…what?

A writer has to grasp a living story from–where? the ether?–and then keep it and all of its jumble of assorted characters vibrant and real as they make their way onto the page, eventually meshing perfectly with the story.  Like a surgeon of the imagination, doing the most incredible transplant.  So much care, so much focus on making sure the body doesn’t reject the organs, that the operating table and miracle of life doesn’t result in death.

Inspiration is so ephemeral.  It’s both frail and potentially so strong.  The second an idea strikes, I have to grab it with both hands and run, and yet at the same time I have to approach it the right way or it dries up into something not beautiful or alive at all.  It needs to bleed onto the written page with life in it, seeping a voice, a mood, a pulse and future with it, or it’s…dead on the table and one just wants to get out of the operating room with its rank stench of failure.

So no details until they’re all settled where they belong, humming and thriving in their own life, their own ecosystem.

Anyway, I ought not be afraid of interviewing A.  After all, she was the first of the bunch to ever talk with me, back when she first grabbed me by the arm, pulled me back to the computer from the kitchen where I was pottering about anxiously, and took charge because both I (silly writer) and S (stuck hero) didn’t know how to start our quest.  No A, no story.

So it’s about time I sat down with her again.  If she can free her schedule for me.  🙂

About sputnitsa

Born in the US, I grew up in Africa and the West Indies, and returned stateside in my teens. After a decade in international development, democracy work, and inclusivity training for domestic NGOs, I joined Peace Corps, and after a year, experienced my first Russian invasion. I followed that up by volunteering with refugees and youth, and after some vacation time climbing minarets and mountains, I returned to New York City, where today I work on social justice with college students, produce short films, and write.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

